SID welcomes Philip Oxhorn as new member of SID Governing Council

SID President Juma Mwapachu is pleased to announce the appointment of Philip Oxhorn as member of the SID Governing Council.

'The leadership of SID is once again happy and excited to welcome on its Governing Board and the Executive Committee an individual of exceptional intellectual quality and experience of broad coverage but with a rare one on Latin America. In Professor Philip Oxhorn SID expects to leverage its global reach as it seeks to widen its membership network in Latin America where, through SID's Chapters in Argentina and Bolivia, the challenge of  broadening citizen engagements on key issues of social and economic transformation based on inclusive growth are vital. Philip will moreover bring on board unique experience based on his extensive research and publications on pertinent issues on democracy and governance and their interfaces with market ideologies in a global environment challenged by growing inequalities.' (Amb. Mwapachu)

'As one of the oldest organizations of its kind, SID has much to offer as the world rethinks development challenges for the post-Millennium Development Goals period. It is truly an honor for me to help SID mobilize the impressive resources represented by its global networks.' (Philip Oxhorn)

Philip Oxhorn is a Professor of Political Science at McGill University and the Founding Director of McGill's Institute for the Study of International Development, as well as the Editor-in-Chief of the international journal Latin American Research Review. A former Associate Dean (Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies) at McGill, his research focuses on the comparative study of civil society and its role in supporting democratic regimes, particularly in Latin America.

Phil's publications include Sustaining Civil Society: Economic Change, Democracy and the Social Construction of Citizenship in Latin America (Penn State University Press, 2011) and Organizing Civil Society: The Popular Sectors and the Struggle for Democracy in Chile (Penn State University Press, 1995), as well as numerous articles and four co-edited volumes: What Kind of Democracy? What Kind of Market? Latin America in the Age of Neoliberlism (with Graciela Ducatenzeiler, Penn State University Press, 1998), The Market and Democracy In Latin America: Convergence or Divergence? (with Pamela Starr, Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1999), Decentralization, Civil Society, and Democratic Governance: Comparative Perspectives from Latin America, Africa, and Asia (with Joseph Tulchin and Andrew Selee Woodrow Wilson Center Press/the Johns Hopkins University Press, 2004), and Beyond Neoliberalism? Patterns, Responses, and New Directions in Latin America and the Caribbean (with Kenneth Roberts and John Burdick, Palgrave Macmillan, 2009).

Phil has lectured extensively in North and South America, Western Europe, Asia and Australia. He has also worked as a consultant to the Inter-American Development Bank, the United Nations Development Program, the United Nations Population Fund, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Canada, Department for Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, Canada, the Ford Foundation, The Carter Center, the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars, and the Mining Association of Canada.  He has a PhD in Political Science from Harvard University.

Phil's appointment follows the resignation of Robin McLay following his appointment as Director Research, Strategy and Learning at the MasterCard Foundation.

The SID Secretariat is grateful to Robin for his ongoing support and cooperation during his Council tenure and welcomes Phil to the leadership of the Society as it begins preparations for the 2016 World Congress.

Governing Council 2012-2015  
The SID Governing Council for the period 2012-2015 comprises: Juma Mwapachu (Tanzania), President; Jean Gilson (USA), Vice President; René Grotenhuis (Netherlands), Treasurer; Stefano Prato (Italy), Managing Director; Council Members: Akwasi Aidoo (Ghana), Inés Alberdi (Spain), Larry Cooley (USA), Betty Maina (Kenya), Philip Oxhorn (Canada) , Benito de Miguel (Argentina), Sam Mwale (Kenya), Norbert Noisser (Germany), Jetti Oliver (India), and Cream Wright (Sierra Leone.